Press "Enter" to skip to content

Reimert beats Kressley in thriller at Grandview Speedway

Louden Reimert and defending track champion Brett Kressley waged a fierce battle Saturday night, but in the end Reimert held off all of Kressley’s challenges to score his third T.P. Trailer NASCAR Modified feature win of the season at Grandview Speedway.

Reimert, of Oley, engaged in a torrid battle with Kressley, of Orefield, over the final 10 laps of the 30-lap T.P. Trailer Modified main event, with both drivers switching lanes on various laps, a couple of times the two drivers were side-by-side exchanging a little paint and rubbing wheels while fighting for the win.

The final five laps were intense with Kressley throwing everything he had at Reimert, including being alongside the leader with just six laps to go as they crossed the start/finish line, but Reimert held on to score the victory by just a couple of car lengths.

T.P. Truck Equipment Sportsman division rookie driver Gavyn Krupp of Barto, drove from a sixth place starting spot, circling the top lane of the speedway and into the lead with a daring outside groove move around another rookie driver Randy Graber of Boyertown, on lap 13, then survived a caution on lap 17 to motor on to his second win of the season in the division’s 25-lap feature race.

The winners received bonus money (Modified $300, Sportsman $200) from T.P. Trailers and Truck Equipment of Limerick, sponsors of the two divisions at Grandview Speedway, in a race program run under the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series banner.

Eric Kormann of Carneys Point, N.J. took the lead at the start of the evening’s 30-lap T.P. Trailer Modified feature race after some exciting qualifying race action. Kormann pulled out to a huge advantage while John Willman of Birdsboro, Frank Yankowski of Throop, and Carrol Hine III of Reading, fought for the next three positions.

Reimert, who started the feature in ninth spot, advanced to fifth by lap four and joined the action up front.

A caution on lap 11 reset the field, with tenth-starting Kressley sitting in 11th spot at that point. Following therestart, Doug Manmiller, of Shoemakersville, and Jared Umbenhauer, of Richland, charged toward the front, with Manmiller reaching third and Umbenhauer fifth when another pair of cautions came out on lap 14.

Between laps 11 and 14, Reimert advanced through the top five spots to reach second behind leader Kormann, which set up a race changing restart.

The lap 14 restart saw Reimert battle Kormann side-by-side for the lead, almost a full lap before Reimert secured the lead on the backstretch on lap 15.

The race was then on for the top spots, as Manmiller and Umbenhauer continued to advance battling with Kormann, Yankowski and Justin Grim of Orefield, while Kressley, who was in eighth on the restart, started advancing, reaching fifth by lap 16.

Kressley caught Reimert and made a move for the lead on lap 24, with the two side-by-side at the flagstand, bumping together and rubbing wheels as they entered turn one fighting for the lead.

A late caution bunched the field again, resulting in a restart with six laps left.

Reimert mixed it up each lap, running one lap high and the next low in the corners, and changing his entry on each end of the track, while Kressley took the opposite groove trying everything he could to get by.

Reimert held of Kressley for the win, his third of the season and of his Grandview career.

Following Reimert and Kressley to the finish were Manmiller, a late race charging Jeff Strunk of Boyertown, who started in 25th spot, Umbenhauer, Justin Grim, Ryan Watt of Boyertown,  Kormann, Yankowski, and Jimmy Leiby of West Milford, N.J. who recovered from a spin on lap fourteen to finish in the top ten.

Gavyn Krupp scored his second Sportsmen win of the year on Saturday night at Grandview Speedway. (Photo courtesy of Scott Bender)
Gavyn Krupp scored his second Sportsmen win of the year on Saturday night at Grandview Speedway. (Photo courtesy of Scott Bender)

The T.P. Truck Equipment Sportsman feature was just as entertaining as the Modified main event, and Randy Graber took the early lead, with BJ Joly III of Oley, second, followed by a three car race for third between Stephen Laubach of Bangor, Lawson Szerencits of Catasauqua,  and Gavyn Krupp.

Krupp sat in fourth for a number of laps, while another multi-car race was happening behind him for position between Zane Roth of Slatington, Troy Bollinger of Palmerton,  Mark Mohr of Macungie, and Mark Kemmerer pf Green Lane.

Krupp grabbed third from Laubach on lap eight, second from Joly III on lap ten and set sail after leader Graber, who was setting a steady pace up front.

Krupp caught Graber on lap 12.

Joly III and Szerencits fought for third, while Laubach, Roth, Kemmerer and a fast moving Logan Watt of Boyertown, along with Mike Schneck Jr. of Lebanon, joinedn the action up front.

The race had its first caution on lap 17, with Krupp leading followed by Graber, Joly III, Szerencits and Watt.

The restart saw several drivers gain positions including Szerencits to second, Roth to fifth, Schneck Jr. to sixth, and out of nowhere, Addison Meitzler of Kempton, advanced into the top ten.

The final laps of the race saw Krupp maintain a small but safe lead over Szerencits, while Graber, Joly III, Roth, Schneck Jr., Meitzler, Watt and Dylan Swinehart of Fleetwood, were all circling the track in a tight group fighting for the top spots down to the wire.

At the checkered flag, Krupp scored his second win of his rookie season, followed by Szerencits, who would lose second in post-race tech inspection, Randy Graber for his career best finish, Meitzler who was still moving forward at the finish, Watt, Joly III for his best run of the year, Swinehart, a late run by Jesse Hirthler of Boyertown, Roth, Schneck Jr., and Brian HIrthler of Green Lane, who advanced from 24th starting spot.

Penske Racing Shocks of Reading, awarded product certificates to the top three finishers in the T.P. Truck Equipment Sportsman feature, worth $75, $50, and $25 respectively, won by Krupp, Graber and Meitzler.

The Outlaw Racing Series Vintage cars were on hand, with Rich Baker leading the entire feature, and surviving a late race challenge from Gage Phillips to score the feature race win as the first Modified car across the line. Richie Pratt Sr. charged from last starting spot to finish in sixth spot, and score the win as the first Sportsman across at the finish.

The top five finishers were Baker, Phillips, Mike Hautaling, Jr. Mikosz and Scott Schaffer at the checkered.


Source: Berkshire mont

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply