Press "Enter" to skip to content

Seven Berks League field hockey players earn first-team All-State honors

Seven Berks League players have been voted to the Pennsylvania Field Hockey Coaches Association All-State first teams, it was announced Friday.

Another six made second teams and two others received honorable mention.

Oley Valley’s Morgan Snyder and Taylor Vacarro and Twin Valley’s Maddie Stevens, all seniors, were first-team selections for the third straight year.

Snyder, the Berks Player of the Year, and Vacarro were joined on the Class 1A first team by teammates Izzy Buehler, a junior, and Molly Rothenberger, a senior.

The Lynx won the Berks, District 3 Class 1A and PIAA Class 1A titles this season.

Stevens, a goalie, was joined on the Class 2A first team by Daniel Boone senior Marlee Fetrow. Fetrow had been a second-team pick each of the previous two years.

Wilson junior Caroline Horace made the Class 3A first team after being a second-team pick last year.

Two players from Boyertown also made the Class 3A first team: junior Peyton Shellaway and senior Hannah Ulrich. Shellaway was a second-team selection in 2022.

Making the second team in Class 1A was Oley Valley senior Olivia Scatamacchia.

In Class 2A, Twin Valley senior Hadley Munn was selected to the second team for the third straight year. She was joined by junior teammate Adriana Hall.

In Class 3A, Wilson junior Catherine Wolf and sophomore Sophie Wilchek, and Gov. Mifflin sophomore MaKenna Baessler made the second team.

In addition, Boyertown sophomore Alaina Charlesworth, and freshmen Kendal Gilbert and Emily Ulrich were voted to the Class 3A second team.

Earning honorable mention were Berks Catholic senior Alyse Weber in Class 1A and Twin Valley senior Laura Sokso in Class 2A. Sokso made the honorable mention team for the second straight year.

Source: Berkshire mont

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply