Press "Enter" to skip to content

Penn State’s Jordan Stout is voted Big Ten Punter of the Year

Penn State senior Jordan Stout, who has drilled 25 kicks of at least 50 yards, was named Tuesday as the Big Ten’s Punter of the Year.

Stout was joined on the All-Big Ten first team by Nittany Lions defensive end Arnold Ebiketie and safety Jaquan Brisker in voting by the conference coaches and a media panel.

Nine other Penn State players on defense and special teams also received All-Big Ten recognition.

Stout is one of three finalists for the Ray Guy Award, which goes to the nation’s top punter. He’s averaging 46.6 yards on 62 kicks this season and has allowed just 33 return yards. He’s a chief reason why Penn State ranks second nationally in net punting (45.08).

He’s dropped 34 of his punts inside the 20-yard line of Penn State opponents. He’s on track to set the school record for season average and career average (44.8).

Stout also received All-Big Ten honorable mention as a kicker.

Ebiketie, a senior and a transfer from Temple, leads the conference and is tied for seventh nationally with 17 tackles for loss, which includes 9.5 sacks. He’s made a tackle for loss in eight consecutive games. He also has eight quarterback hurries, two forced fumbles and two blocked kicks.

Brisker, a senior and a transfer from Lackawanna (Junior) College, is fourth on the team with 64 tackles, including 5.5 for losses. He also has two interceptions, one fumble recovery and five pass break-ups.

Penn State linebacker Ellis Brooks and defensive tackle PJ Mustipher, who has missed the second half of the season with a knee injury, were voted to the second team by the coaches and received honorable mention from the media.

Safety Ji’Ayir Brown, cornerback Joey Porter Jr., linebacker Brandon Smith and return specialist Jahan Dotson were named to the third team by the coaches and received honorable mention from the media.

Defensive end Jesse Luketa was voted to the third team by the media and received honorable mention from the coaches.

Cornerback Tariq Castro-Fields and linebacker Curtis Jacobs received honorable mention.

Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson was selected the Defensive Player of the Year and the Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Wisconsin’s Leo Chenal was voted the Linebacker of the Year; Iowa’s Riley Moss the Defensive Back of the Year; Michigan’s Jake Moody the Kicker of the Year; and Iowa’s Charlie Jones the Return Specialist of the Year.

Michigan State’s Mel Tucker, who has guided the Spartans to a 10-2 record, was named Coach of the Year by his fellow coaches and the media panel.

The All-Big Ten offensive teams and awards will be announced Wednesday, along with the Freshman of the Year.

Source: Berkshire mont

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: