Press "Enter" to skip to content

Pfeiler-Wunder Awarded 2024 Regional, National Higher Education Art Educator

by Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Kutztown University’s Dr. Amy Pfeiler-Wunder, associate dean of the College of Visual and Performing Arts, is the recipient of the 2024 Eastern Region and National Higher Education Art educator awards by the National Art Education Association (NAEA). This prestigious award, determined through a peer review of nominations, recognizes the exemplary contributions, service, and achievements of one outstanding NAEA member annually at the national level within their division. The award was presented during the NAEA 2024 National Convention in Minneapolis in April.

At the ceremony, Jesse Todero ’21, art education and art history double major with a minor in crafts, presented the award as the current pre-service division director on the NAEA Board. Todero is currently an elementary educator in the Muhlenberg School District, Reading.

Pfeiler-Wunder began at KU in 2009, served as professor of art education, and was most recently named associate dean of the College of Visual and Performing Arts in January 2024. Pfeiler-Wunder has more than 25 years of experience in art education, working with learners from Pre-K-16 in a wide range of educational settings. During her time in the art education department, she served as the coordinator of the Master in Art Education program and then department chair for two years.

She is active in the NAEA, serving most recently as the chair of the Research Commission and former Higher Educator Representative on the NAEA Board of Directors. She also served as the Higher Education Representative on the Research Commission from 2016-20 and is the former chair and co-founder of the Professional Learning through Research working group under the Research Commission.

Pfeiler-Wunder was nominated by Dr. Marilyn Stewart, faculty emeriti, Kutztown University; Dr. Christina Hanawalt, associate professor, University of Georgia, Lomar Dadd School of Art; and Dr. Jorge Lucero, professor of Art Education in the School of Art + Design, and since 2023, associate dean for Research in the College of Fine and Applied Arts, University of Illinois.

NAEA president Wanda B. Knight stated, “This award is being given to recognize excellence in professional accomplishment and service by a dedicated art educator. Amy Pfeiler-Wunder exemplifies the highly qualified art educators active in education today: leaders, teachers, students, scholars, and advocates who give their best to their students and the profession.”

Founded in 1947, the NAEA is the leading professional membership organization exclusively for visual arts educators. Members include elementary, middle, and high school visual arts educators; college and university professors; university students preparing to become art educators; researchers and scholars; teaching artists; administrators and supervisors; and art museum educators – as well as more than 54,000 students who are members of the National Art Honor Society.

The mission of the NAEA champions creative growth and innovation by equitably advancing the tools and resources for a high-quality visual arts, design, and media arts education throughout diverse populations and communities of practice. For more information about the association and its awards program, visit the NAEA website at

The post Pfeiler-Wunder Awarded 2024 Regional, National Higher Education Art Educator appeared first on BCTV.

Source: bctv

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply